Attachments 26-30: This is a workplace.

Beth and Jennifer are really running wild now that it’s been months without a single reprimand.  Just a quick timeline check: the first email of the novel was in August and now we’re in October (“Calooh! Callay!”). Lincoln can’t give them a warning at this point and he certainly can’t bring himself to stop reading their flagged emails. Just from reading a few of their conversations, he can tell that they’re good people. Cool and funny and kind. I totally get that; I mean, that’s why I’m reading this book that is mostly composed of their emails. They’re awesome and I want to be friends with them.

It’s clear that Lincoln wants to be more than friends with Beth, but he tells himself that it’s just a little work crush, which I think we all need to get through the day (or night, in Lincoln’s case). He’s curious, so he visits her empty desk at night and takes in the little details. In my opinion, this behavior is right on the borderline. It’s definitely weird and a little creepy, but you could still spin it so it’s kind of sweet. Then he goes to see her boyfriend’s band at a show and I think that crosses a line. What is the ideal outcome of this little field trip? It makes me so uncomfortable. Afterwards, Beth spots her cute guy being all kinds of cute in the Advertising department and tells Jennifer all about it.  Lincoln is jealous, more so than with Chris because Chris is actually cool. He can see Chris’ appeal, but some salesman? That pisses him off. Oh, Lincoln. You’re in too deep.

Whenever I recommend this book to someone, they scoff at the synopsis on the back cover and I don’t blame them. When I focus too much on the premise of Attachments, I remember that I probably shouldn’t like this book. Or maybe this book shouldn’t be as good as it is. Everyone is so out of line! Lincoln is reading all this incredibly personal information and letting this behavior continue. And Jennifer and Beth aren’t blameless here— talking about ovulation and unprotected sex on company time, leaving a written record of it. . . are you kidding me? Just for fun, I went through the first page of chapter 30 for words that are possibly flagged: Heroin, pregnant, period, pee, womb, sex (times 2), ovulating. Actually, some of these are probably not flagged, because when would they even come up? If I was setting up WebFence, I would never think to include womb or ovulating. I have never said either of those words at work. I know that for a fact.

Stray thoughts

  • Jennifer might be pregnant! For real this time!
  • I love the casual mention that Lincoln ate two pieces of pie in one sitting. He’s so big and brawny.
  • “Just root for me” (115). Aww, Cath and Levi!
  • Razorwine is an incredible band name. Much better than Sacajawea.

A Recommendation

I’m currently reading We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, an ARC that’s been sitting on my nightstand for a while (a very long while— the book has been released by now, with a ton of buzz around it).  The wealthy Sinclair family has always spent its summers on a private island near Cape Cod, where the patriarch and his three daughters each have their own house (one of the houses is called Cuddledown!! Rich people are weird!). Cadence Sinclair Eastman, her two cousins, and a family friend become a tight-knit group called “the Liars.” They’re inseparable until Cadence suffers a mysterious injury during “Summer Fifteen.” She spends the next few years dealing with debilitating migraines and trying to piece together what happened that summer.

Like Beth, I’m so in love with autumn (I know that was back in Chapter 25, but stick with me here). I never need a reason to get in the autumn spirit and the other seasons just can’t compare. Especially not summer. There is a very short window of time when I can trick myself into getting excited for summer, before I remember how much I hate mosquitos and humidity. I’m right in the middle of that window right now and this book is really working for me. A great summer read needs to be dramatic and a little soapy and, if the drama unfolds in a beach setting, so much the better. We Were Liars reminds me of another dysfunctional family saga, Judy Blume’s Summer Sisters, which is THE summer book as far as I’m concerned.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Attachments 26-30: This is a workplace.

  1. OMG, WE WERE LIARS!!! I read it over Memorial Day weekend and I’m still not over it. Let’s just add it to the list of books that have made me sob on a plane. -E

Leave a Reply

